ABOUT

 

EMSC was established in 1991 to improve and ensure pediatric emergency care administered by the United States Department of Health and Human Services’ Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau. This program is a national initiative designed to reduce death and disability in children ages 0-18, due to severe illness or injury. Medical personnel, parents, volunteers, community groups, businesses, national organizations and foundations all contribute to this nationwide effort. A federal grant program supports state and local action.

The administration of EMSC moved from the CT Department of Health to Yale New Haven Children's Hospital in December of 2016.  EMSC is a collaborative effort with all hospitals in CT (including both Children's Hospitals in CT: Yale New Haven Children's Hospital and CT Children's Medical Center)

OUR TEAM

EMSC Project Investigators

Marc Auerbach, MD, MSCI, FACEP, FAAP

Associate Professor, Yale University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine, Director of Pediatric Simulation, & Associate Pediatric Trauma Medical Director

marc.auerbach@yale.edu

Mark X. Cicero, MD

Associate Professor, Yale University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine, Director of Pediatric Disaster Preparedness. 

mark.cicero@yale.edu

Jason W. Malia, MHA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, C-NPT

Clinical Program Director, Emergency, Preoperative, Primary Care, and Transport

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital

jason.malia@ynhh.org

Tom Martin, MSN, APRN, CCRN

Program Manager, Pediatric Critical Care Transport and Community Outreach

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital

thomas.martin@ynhh.org

Victoria Barnes, RN, BSN

Program Coordinator, Connecticut Emergency Medical Services for Children

victoria.barnes@ynhh.org

Cristina Carusone-Biceglia

Sr. Administrative Assistant, Yale University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

cristina.carusone-biceglia@yale.edu

Family Advisory Network Leads:

Jennifer Groves Fusco, JD

Parent, Shareholder Updike Kelly Spellacy

jfusco@uks.com

Nanfi Lubogo

PATH Parent to Parent/Family Voices of Connecticut

nanfi@aol.com